Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

The Final Cut: Catherine Coulter, J. T. Ellison: 9780399164736 Reviews and Coupon

~ search results
List Price: $ 351.34 ?
Price: $ 16.32?
You Save: $ 166.19 ?
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

As always a good read.

As always a good read. Fast paced can't wait for her next book.she knows how to get a person wrapped up in to story.

Published 16 hours ago by mswhite

New Characters

Coulter's characters and stories are always well done. It's nice to have the addition of two new characters to follow. Read more

Published 1 day ago by MJ

On The Edge of My Seat!!!

Again Catherine Coulter has me spellbound with her great story telling! Loved this book and couldn't put it down. A good read!

Published 2 days ago by E. Kilmer

great read

I enjoy reading books like this one. The message is simple and the word pictures clear. Don't know what else to say.

Published 3 days ago by KD

Coulter Does it Again

I love Coulter and she did not disappoint. The twists and turns of this plot kept me guessing.
Btravo Bravo

Published 3 days ago by Amazon Customer

Fascinating

An excellent read. What made it even better was learning the truth of the story. Looking forward to reading more about Nicholas Drummond.

Published 3 days ago by Dori

PROOF reader

Very good, but there should have been a better proof reader as in the part where Salem is with his Grandfather ,he suddenly becomes his Grandmother.

Published 7 days ago by Marjie Spinler

Love the addition of the Brit

Hope he continues, know he will, looking forward to the next adventure. Yes, it was a good read, quite interesting.

Published 7 days ago by Dama2d

the final cut

I love Catherine Coulter books. this one was almost as good as her other FBI thillers. good read, great price.

Published 9 days ago by sandi

Terrific!

I loved the bit of history included in the story. Made it all so plausible. Fascinating and a real page turner.

Published 10 days ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful

Entertaining new page-turning thriller series

By Suncoast TOP 500 REVIEWER on September 18, 2013

Format: Kindle Edition Amazon Verified Purchase

This is a good start to an entertaining easy-reading new series jointly written by successful authors Catherine Coulter and J.T.Ellison. The combination has worked seamlessly to produce an interesting mixture of FBI and Scotland Yard.

The series introduces Detective Chief Inspector (Sir?) Nicholas Drummond of New Scotland Yard. Nicholas is not your run of the mill British DCI. He was born in the US but brought up in England by his father, a hereditary Baron. He is very close to his American Uncle, a very respected former senior FBI officer. Nicholas is a cosmopolitan character with a varied career, including a testing time in the intelligence service before joining Scotland Yard. He is a world away from the regionally orientated fictional Inspectors Grace and James who would have some difficulty working with the FBI.

Nicholas' police and personal partner, Detective Inspector Elaine York, is in New York to oversee security for the Queen Mother's Crown (which features the famous Koh-I-Noor diamond) while it is on exhibition at the Metropolitan Museum. On hearing that she has been found dead under suspicious circumstances Nicholas immediately flies to New York.

Because of his Uncle's contacts he is able to work with the FBI on the case. While Nicholas partners with FBI Agent Michaela (Mike) Caine to work on the case they are given assistance by Coulter's FBI characters Savich and Sherlock. Mike is an attractive, efficient, motivated and respective FBI agent and they join forces pretty easily. (Why are so many fictional female FBI agents so attractive - I'm sure this isn't so in real life).

The authors' can't resist giving the enigmatic Nicholas a bit of a James Bond image - handsome, rich and well connected.
Read more ›

1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Great Read

By Terri Lee Mager on September 20, 2013

Format: Hardcover Amazon Verified Purchase

One of the best story lines in the FBI series yet..brought in old characters and places along with the a few new ones that I hope we read about again. Plus it leads into the next series of the FBI working with Scotland Yard

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Not up to previous works...

By Mama Mary on September 20, 2013

Format: Hardcover Amazon Verified Purchase

I am an avid fan of Catherine Coulter's FBI novels and even managed to get my husband hooked on the series. I have greatly anticipated this dually authored novel but was disappointed to have figured out the main who and what's of the plot by p. 86. I also felt the two main characters, Nicholas and Mike, did not have the chemistry of Coulter's previous FBI couples. Some of the behaviors of the main "villain" (whom I ID'd almost immediately and wore more of a "gray" hat than "black") also seemed out-of-character for someone who had had such a successful larcenous career. I'm not sure if writing in tandem is the cause but this was not one of the finer Coulter stories I have read.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

28 of 35 people found the following review helpful

Lots of action, and some awful writing

By Laughing Bull on September 25, 2013

Format: Kindle Edition Amazon Verified Purchase

One of the heroes is named Mike. Except he is a she. And there's a detective who walks around crime scenes and "knows" exactly what happened. Name? Sherlock. Yes, really. There's a French flic named -- wait for it -- L'Agent. And the French slang for a detective is used three times in about as many pages...for the same reason the English cop says "bugger" and "bloody hell" far more often than a Brit ever would.

Information needed by our two heroes is instantly available, usually thanks to a quick internet search. Bad guys keep warehouse surveillance tapes on their personal computers, which they leave on at night, without a password. And then there's the "magic" behind Sherlock's revelations. Video tapes from beyond the grave (delivered, no less). Cops who write journals filled with very private -- and possibly illegal -- information, and then upload it to the cloud where it is hacked "with three keystrokes".

Then there's the Koh-i-Noor, which for a priceless diamond spends a remarkable amount of time unguarded. And being taken out of the Queen's crown for "testing" by cops who lack both the skills and the equipment to determine whether a diamond is real.

And the dialogue. "Was he Sir Nicholas? No, he couldn't be." So much for that.

The writers seem bored by anything that doesn't involve the heroes being shot at or fought with. The action's not bad, and might have merited three stars. But there were so many times I groaned out loud at the way it was all pasted together two stars is the best I can do.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

A must Read for any thriller lover

By Deborah Haupt on September 17, 2013

Format: Hardcover

The Koh-i-Noor diamond's been stolen from the Queen Mother's crown while on loan for a special exhibit at the NY Metropolitan Art Museum, taken from right under the noses of the Met's security and the New York FBI.
Chief Inspector Nicholas Drummond from New Scotland Yard is on his way to the US, against the wishes of his superior to assist in investigating an associate's murder when he learns of the theft of the diamond and his associate's alleged connection to the crime.
NY FBI Special Agent Mike Caine's been assigned to investigate the murder of the English woman when she learns her ex-boss's Scotland Yard nephew will be joining her. They soon find themselves embroiled in the search for the infamous diamond and the elusive jewel thief known as Fox and is surprised by the Fox's proximity to them before the crime.
Mike and Nick will face a multitude of dangers while searching for this cunning adversary. They must act quickly before the trail goes cold, before the diamond disappears forever and the clues get lost in the smoke and mirrors of this never before caught thief. They will have to rely on many international allies in law enforcement and battle many enemies while they globetrot to try and solve this crime. It's up in the air if they'll even survive let alone recover this cursed diamond.

Catherine Coulter and JT Ellison are both fabulous authors both with very individual voices and writing styles and have accomplished a feat that many before them have failed at, a true literary collaboration that's an amazing brilliantly told plus an intensely entertaining story. It's a true melding of the incredible and somewhat light crime drama of Catherine with the darker yet just as astonishing hard-boiled police procedural of JT.
Read more ›

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Bestseller Coulter (Bombshell) teams with Ellison (Edge of Black) on a thriller that manages to be both intricate and full of jaw-dropping action sequences. Det. Chief Insp. Nicholas Drummond, frequently described as akin to James Bond, travels from London to Manhattan, where a thief known only as the Fox has stolen the Koh-i-Noor diamond, the centerpiece of the Queen Mother's crown on display at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. The Fox's relationship with the man who hired her to steal the diamond, Saleem Singh Lanighan, and the man who trained her, William Mulvaney, complicate matters. In the course of his investigation, Drummond connects in entertaining fashion with Coulter's main series heroes, FBI agents Dillon Savich and Lacey Sherlock. A number of well-developed subplots keep this from being a simple one-on-one contest. Ingenious disguises, daring bluffs, and hair-breadth escapes add to the fun of the chase. Agent: Robert Gottlieb, Trident Media Group. (Sept.)

Review

PRAISE FOR THE FINAL CUT

Fast-paced and action-packed, with the promise of romance to come, this entertaining thriller merges fact and fiction to superb effect.”
Library Journal (starred review)
 
"The twists to the story are nonstop, and the characters sparkle like precious stones....One of the best thrillers of the year." —Associated Press

“Coulter and Ellison have created a new son of Bond licensed to shine in future thrillers. Genre fans will find the action nonstop.”
                                                                   —Kirkus
 
“A thriller that manages to be both intricate and full of jaw-dropping action sequences….Drummond connects in entertaining fashion with Coulter’s main series heroes, FBI agents Dillon Savich and Lacey Sherlock….Ingenious disguises, daring bluffs, and hair-breadth escapes add to the fun of the chase.”
                                                —Publishers Weekly See all Editorial Reviews

Product Details

www.booksreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
www.booksreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.