Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck, Book 8: Jeff Kinney: 9781419711329 Reviews and Coupon

~ search results
List Price: $ 351.34 ?
Price: $ 16.32?
You Save: $ 166.19 ?
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

I recommend this and every book in the diary of a wimpy kind series

it is great. the author really did a good job on this book no wonder it is a number one new York Times best seller book

Published 10 hours ago by Brandon Asi

good

It is a good book for people who like the series.I think you should buy it and you will like it

Published 11 hours ago by Tiffany

It was good book

It was a good book but it was missing something. I think it's just a great, fun book to read.

Published 16 hours ago by Sheila R Pena

Funny

This series is very popular and this is my second favorite diary of a wimpy kid book so far behind cabin fever.

Five stars

Published 22 hours ago by K. Kenneally

Hard luck

I really liked this book it was full of exsitment I love the illustrations in it they are so cool

Published 1 day ago by madison che vaughan

Ok book

I wouldn't say this was the best book ever but it was ok.recommend to evan. like I said it's ok.

Published 1 day ago by Samuel Wissinger

Diary of a Wimpy kid 8

One of the best books by Kinney a perfect book for kids.The drawings in this book are perfect for kids

Published 2 days ago by Skye

Another Hit!

Despite its reputation for being a "boy" book series the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series is a good one for any child. Read more

Published 2 days ago by Beth

Hilarious

It was funny and probably my new favorite book! Jeff Kinney is an amazing author! I would totally recommend this book to others.

Published 2 days ago by Jennifer Brucker

Great Book-Great Series

My 14 yr old had her eye on this book and mentioned it was coming out to purchase. I happened to be searching for it and was notified via email when It could be ordered... Read more

Published 2 days ago by Rose J


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

38 of 46 people found the following review helpful

DIARY OF A WIMPY KID: HARD LUCK - A QUICK LOOK!

By Khamneithang Vaiphei TOP 500 REVIEWER on November 5, 2013

Format: Hardcover

He's back! The Wimpy Kid is back!

The misadventures of Greg Heffley, a 6th grade middle school student, continue to be a rip-roaring affair striking the funny bones of young and old alike everywhere. This web-comic-turned-novel, Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck (#8) by Jeff Kinney is one of the best in the series.

The world has gone crazy for the Wimpy Kid with good reasons. Jeff Kinney is not one of the best children's writers, but he's the best inhabiting planet Earth, at least during the time of the release of his latest book. And why say children when it is the adults who are having a good time with the series. The latest in the series has been waited with baited breath not only by children but also by adults as well.

Continuing the hilarious saga of Greg Heffley, Jeff Kinney in his inimitable style puts him in an awkward situation when his long-time best friend Rowley Jefferson ditches him. Our hero Greg struggles to find new friend and the book revolves around his quest for a friend without much success, and finally, in his ingenious way, leaves it to luck. There is so much truth in portraying Greg the way it is in the book. Children of Greg's age think that their parents do not understand them, they always find fault with their older brother, and when it comes to the little brother, there is a feeling of sympathy and kindheartedness. Many children of his age will easily be able to identify with him. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck is a truth told in a humorous but subtle way. It continues to tickle you with all the issues confronting a middle school student - fame, acceptance, friendship, rivalry, girls and others issues usually associated with students of the same age.
Read more ›

1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

36 of 44 people found the following review helpful

Amazing

By Smashley on November 5, 2013

Format: Kindle Edition Amazon Verified Purchase

It was awesome I loved it I finished it in less than one day. :)
It was interesting more than amazing

1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

17 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Order One EVERY YEAR

By Gepetto on November 5, 2013

Format: Hardcover Amazon Verified Purchase

My now 12 year old grandson Nick LOVES these Jeff Kinney books. His birthday is in December and I have ordered one every year now for 6 years. I think Nick will still enjoy the books through his teens. In the meantime, keep writing them Jeff.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

17 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Another great installment of Wimpy Kid...

By Denis Vukosav TOP 500 REVIEWER on November 5, 2013

Format: Hardcover

"Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 8" by Jeff Kinney is another installment of hugely popular and funny comic series that was previously published as online comic and due to its popularity deserved to be released in novel edition.

Its hero, called Greg Heffley is a 6th grade student who really wants to become popular, like most children of that age.
He is writing his diary which looks like it's written in the notebook, full of funny text and even funnier drawings.
Greg lives in an (almost) normal family with his parents and two brothers, one older named Rodrick who is heavy metal fan and other smaller, named Manny, who is whiny kid.
His best friend is Rowley Jefferson, boy of same age with annoying parents who constantly annoy and bother making Greg's parents look like the best in the world.

Greg is usual victim of older boys, finding him always at the wrong place and time.
Due to his constant desire to be cool, Greg is all the time pursuing some funny tasks like trying to enter Guinness Book due to building of biggest snowman or creating his haunted house...
But the only thing he manage to do successfully is acting as guard for kindergarten children while they're going home during lunch that isn't necessarily a bad thing allowing to get free chocolate and get away from part of math class..

In this last book Greg is having problems with his best friend, Rowley who left him in the lurch, and now Greg has to look for new friends that isn't an easy task in middle school.
As always Greg has an original idea and he will come to one to try solving this problem with the help of luck, leaving the dice to help him change his fortunes....
Read more ›

1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Happy 9 year old

By Luv to Shop on November 11, 2013

Format: Hardcover Amazon Verified Purchase

Daughter read it first day...she loves the books and was so anxious to get it. She was happy when it arrived

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

out of ideas

By Mark A. Ostrowski on November 28, 2013

Format: Hardcover

The Diary of a Wimpy Kid books started out good but when they got past Dog Days they slowly got less interesting I liked Cabin Fever but other than that and even in that the author seems to start running out of ideas. However, I didn't notice this until I read this. I'm not going to spoil the whole story but it basically goes like this: Greg and Rowley get into ANOTHER argument because of Rowley's girlfriend Abigail and Greg is desperately trying to find a friend. After trying to teach Fregley to be like Rowley, (It turns out the opposite of what you'd expect), the story goes to.Easter and shows and unfunny facts about Greg's relatives. The conclusion of the argument doesn't come until the last chapter and it is lousy. The author ran out of ideas and got lazy. If you don't want to know the end than stop reading. Greg and Rowley become friends again.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful

It's here! Book 8!!

By Mickie on November 7, 2013

Format: Hardcover Amazon Verified Purchase

Received quickly and safely. I would recommend this to any Diary of A Wimpy Kid lover. Book 8 to the series. Love these books as they have sparked my child's interest to read. Love hearing the laughter from the other room enjoying a book.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

Greg Heffley’s eighth adventure (but who’s counting?) centers on his relationship with his best friend, Rowley—more specifically, the demise of that relationship when Rowley gets a girlfriend. At first, Greg tries to insert himself into the mix, but he soon tires of Abigail’s pathological control (she changes Rowley’s hairstyle) and fussy propriety (she won’t let him eat off of the cafeteria floor). And so Greg must navigate the minefield of middle school, with its hero points, dollar-store sneakers, and the looming shadow of summer school, all by himself. Without a sidekick, Greg spends more time at home, suffering the attentions of his “colorful” extended family, like Aunt Audra, who drags him along to a psychic visit. Greg begins consulting Rodrick’s forgotten Magic 8 Ball and thinks maybe that will turn his luck around. As ever, Kinney strikes his comic target in the bull’s-eye, exaggerating the trials of adolescence just enough to make them real while deftly exposing the insecurities behind Greg’s bravado with his super, simple drawings. Will Greg and Rowley make up? Either way, devotees need not worry; there is plenty more angst in store. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Kinney’s books are best-sellers on every list out there, and his rabid fans will be chomping at the bit to get another taste of the Wimpy Kid. Grades 5-8. --Thom Barthelmess

Review

The world has gone crazy for Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid series Sun Kinney is right up there with JK Rowling as one of the bestselling children's authors on the planet Independent The most hotly anticipated children's book of the year is here - Diary of a Wimpy Kid The Big Issue See all Editorial Reviews

Product Details

www.booksreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
www.booksreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.