Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

Braiding with Beads on the Kumihimo Disk: Karen DeSousa: 9780971486690 Reviews and Coupon

~ search results
List Price: $ 351.34 ?
Price: $ 16.32?
You Save: $ 166.19 ?
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

Love it

I really love the way the beaded strands look in this book! It seems to be laid out well too.

I have not used the techniques yet though.

Published 1 month ago by Lyn Watson

Informative

I have enjoyed this book and have found it very informative. If someone were attempting to learn this form without a local teacher this book would be a great companion.

Published 1 month ago by Julzweaver

kekoa

the books are great. It not only gives instruction, but it shows how to combine different size beads for a specific pattern result

Published 2 months ago by kekoa

thought it would have more

For the price I thought this book would have had more patterns to choose from. Contains good information but wanted more.

Published 4 months ago by Karen L Crist

More the Size of a Pamphlet!

I ordered this from my sister's wish list and I was shocked at how little you get for the price. It's really not a book, but more like a pamphlet! Read more

Published 4 months ago by Pam Kilborn

Braiding with beads

I will be using this book all the time as a reference on how to improve my Kumihino braiding. Recommend.

Published 4 months ago by Kay Perry

Lots of inspiration!

Gorgeous projects if you can find the beads...many of the beautiful beadds and findings cannot be fount in the many bead vendors so that was disappointing, but lots of inspiration.

Published 4 months ago by Rebecca Raven

great

Use this often as a reference. Great learning tool. Service was faast and product in excellent condition. Will order again

Published 4 months ago by greatgranny

Very good instructions!

I was impressed with this book. It clearly shows the steps involved and offers instructions in how to create patterns and add interest to the designs.

Published 5 months ago by terry

This book is well worth the price.

This book gives you the actual math to calculate the number of beads you will need for your design. Finally, I can buy just enough beads, not too many, not too few. Read more

Published 6 months ago by Jill Polly


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

110 of 112 people found the following review helpful

Small book but with loads of useful information

By polotown on December 6, 2011

Format: Paperback

Yes, this is a short book, at only 35 pages, and only covers beading on the basic round kumihimo braid. The reviews that I read kept me from ordering it. However, I saw it in a beading shop and, after looking through it, willingly paid full price. Every page is chock full of useful information, and every word is obviously carefully considered. Unlike most of the books in this category, it doesn't waste 30 pages of text with basics on beads and fibers that are covered everywhere else and already familiar to someone working with the basics. It also contains only 10 projects, but these are carefully selected projects which aptly demonstrate different techniques. Two pages are worth the entire price of the book: page 6, which explains how to calculate the number of beads needed per linear inch of finished rope; and page 13, which shows the possible pattern variations. This book is never leaving my library.

1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

55 of 59 people found the following review helpful

pretty pricey

By R. J. Bednarek on August 30, 2011

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

I have worked with kumihimo for many years and get excited about new books on the subject. This is the first time I feel disappointed in my purchase. Simply put, the book is pricey for the amount of information included. The projects are beautiful; there are several good tips in working with Kumihimo, but many books that came before this include much more indepth information than is included here for the price. 32 pages and 9 projects; not worth it!

5 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful

very limited beading/braiding idea...

By Elizabeth Sperandio on April 24, 2012

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

I bought all three of these kumihimo books they are great if you want to make one or two kit designs...but they lack the scope to help you to expand and create more designs on your own. In fact, many of the designs in the book are sold as kits through a supplier that the author works with. I would opt for Jacqui Cari's book on beading and kumi instead...it at least teaches a wide array of techniques so that you don't get caught in a dead end with nothing you can sell.

However, if you are looking for a nice weekend project where you end up with a necklace that you or a family/friend can wear then this is a great book. The directions are excellent, and the crafter can change colors on the designs. You will end up with a lovely finished product. Truthfully, a chunk of the beading industry right now is in fact "kit driven" ....people want something that is easy and "works" and professional beaders need to make a living.....

If you want an introduction to beading kumi and you are selling your work or are interested in going further than one or two prototypes...look into Jacqui Cari and Roderick Owen's books on braiding and beading/braiding...their approach is more vested in teaching fundamentals to allow for exploration and possibility, so that you can make your own work.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

36 of 44 people found the following review helpful

Too expensive!

By Kathryn E. Brigger on August 10, 2011

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

I have bought a lot and I do mean a lot of books from Amazon and I am pretty much satisfied with all of them and feel I am getting my money's worth. Well I can't say that again. This book ruined my record. Very expensive for the few pages and few designs. I have purchased books for far less with tons more information on more difficult subject matter. It's my fault I didn't read for the page content, but I am a fast learner and that will not happen again. The designs in this book are pretty but as I said they are few.

7 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

A must buy

By Mitchell Weisberg on February 16, 2012

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

I have all of Karen's previous books, and because of the limited number of designs, I was slightly hesitant. I should not have been. This is the best of the three books, especially for beginners. There is such a wealth of information in this book. I am totally satisfied, and would recommend this book to anyone, especially beginners, but not limited to them. Thank You Karen for a wonderful book.
Eva Weisberg

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Badly bound

By Device on March 17, 2012

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

The text itself is clear and concise, and this review isn't criticizing the content. However, for twenty some dollars, I don't think it's unreasonable to expect perfect binding, especially for a volume as slim as this. This book is essentially printed like a low quality magazine. I was quite disappointed with the quality of the book itself from binding to paper.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Kumihimo Beaded Creations

By Ruby Tulip on October 20, 2011

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

I love this book! Beautiful kumihimo beaded creations. I have read other kumihimo books and learned how to do it, but I love how this book incorporates beads into the designs. It is my favorite kumihimo book.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Wonderful Book

By Casy on March 12, 2012

Format: Paperback

I am very excited about this book. Even with not many pages - this book is packed with information and beautiful projects. I would recommend for anyone looking to incorporate beads into kumihimo

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Karen DeSousa is well known for her Accent On: series of beaded ornament cover books. But when she discovered kumihimo she knew this way the perfect way to marry the beauty of textiles with the joy of beading. She travels all over the US teaching kumihimo and sharing her modernization of this ancient craft. In her books, as well as on her travels, she uses necklaces to show the versatility of braids. She posts information on her classes and workshops at accentbead.com.

Product Details

www.booksreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
www.booksreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.