Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

A Whole New Mind (Live) (Audible Audio Edition): Daniel Pink Reviews and Coupon

~ Daniel Pink
List Price: $ 351.34 ?
Price: $ 16.32?
You Save: $5.12 (56%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

An interesting book

This book is honest and to the point. However, recent science seeems to debunk right/ left brain in favor of inborn character. Read more

Published 10 hours ago by @MBAissuesDOTcom

Thought-provoking, with exercises

Very interesting read, and each section has exercises to strengthen your capacity in the relevant area (story, design, etc). Read more

Published 7 days ago by victoria b larson

Interesting

Some good points- need for innovation, making connections, empathy, but a bit redundant. Not convinced the "right brain" has the answers without the "whole" brain.

Published 12 days ago by Barbara Fultz

Must read for R-Brain and L-Brain people

Fabulous!! loved it. i am giving a presentation on the topics covered in the book, especially the importance of story, symphony and empathy. Great insight. Excellent examples.

Published 18 days ago by Wizard07

Artists and art-lovers please note

My right-brained son has found this fascinating. I'm not certain I buy all of the premise, but it is interesting.

Published 19 days ago by S. Ward

Enjoyable and informative

Really liked this book. I found it to be both enjoyable and informative. What I particularly liked about it is that the author (who also narrates the Kindle version-a huge plus)... Read more

Published 21 days ago by D. Clark

Very compelling

Pink lays out his argument in a very clear and compelling fashion. If you want to see where the jobs are going in the future, read this book. Read more

Published 22 days ago by Brad Parker

Daniel Pink delivers

Dan Pink delivers. Every, leader, manager, supervisor should read all of Dan Pink's books. It's almost as informative as his book Drive.

Published 26 days ago by M. Black

Why critical analysis is no longer enough

Is your brain right-leaning? You're ahead of the curve. If not, this book offers a view into the possible, and tools to get there.

Published 1 month ago by Cathleen A Enright

Wow!

Definitely worth your while to read. It opens up your eyes to areas of life you don't travel to often. A great read!

Published 1 month ago by Madison


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

352 of 371 people found the following review helpful

Business As Usual?November 14, 2005

By sfarmer76

Format:Hardcover

A Whole New Mind $16.47 US, is a 2005 release from Daniel H. Pink that covers creative thinking and other aspects of success. Ostensibly geared toward career pros, this non-fiction title analyzes transitions in society as America migrates from an Information Age to a Conceptual Age economy. The text in Dan's book is not academic -- instead it is more biographical, intuitive, observational, and playful. His book is a real triple threat of content, style, and visual presentation.

Word to the wise -- you are in for a slightly different book here -- right of the bat, the author walks us through the procedure of having his brain scanned as part of a project conducted at the National Institute of Mental Health in Washington D.C. This unorthodox introduction (with four photo illustrations) is welcomed by the reader, as it gives the chapter an introspective quality. Pink shares this experience to illustrate normal brain function -- to note a few misconceptions about the way the brain divides work -- and then posits that while most people integrate both left and right brain activity, R-Directed Thinking will increasingly be relied upon in the future, by people that want to succeed in business or life.

Here is the crux of what Pink is trying to relay. America is currently organized around a cadre of accountants, doctors, engineers, executives and lawyers. These "knowledge workers" excel at the ability to acquire and marry facts to data, and these abilities are typically accrued through a series of standardized tests such as the PSAT, SAT, GMAT, LSAT and MCAT. (As an aside, Bush's test-happy Department of Education only serves to increase the number of L-Directed Thinkers, providing corporations cheap labor in abundance.
Read more ›

812 of 912 people found the following review helpful

Excellent diagnosis, but insufficient & incomplete solutions April 7, 2005

By John H. Hwung

Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase

The title of the book is very appropriate. For the age that we are in, we need a whole new mind. However, the book promised a mansion, but ended up giving us an apartment. It begins like a Porsche, but ended like a VW Beetle. The author correctly diagnosed the disease of Abundance, Asia, and Automation, but prescribed the wrong medicine of six right-brain-directed (R-Directed) aptitudes.

To the author's credit, he is the first that succinctly diagnosed the major problems the Western countries are facing: Abundance, Asia, and Automation. Most people, including intellectuals and high government officials are in the coma state of not sensing the lethal effects of offshore outsourcing of high-tech jobs and R&D to the fundamental wellbeing of U.S. and other Western countries, nor the consequence of automating white collar jobs by the ever more powerful computer hardware and software. This is the first book that I know of that sounded the alarm to the great masses of the coming sea change. For this, the author ought to be congratulated.

The author has a vision that we are moving from Information Age to Conceptual Age. He said that if we have a whole new mind, we can have an economy and society that are built on the inventive, empathic and big-picture capabilities. He stresses that the main characters now are the creator and the empathizer. He argues that we need to move from high tech to high concept and high touch. These are all great ideas. However, the strategies that the author prescribed through the six R-Directed aptitudes, which consist most of the book, while adequate to battle Abundance and Automation, is hardly sufficient to overcome Asia.
Read more ›

59 of 67 people found the following review helpful

An incomplete guide for "right-brain" exercises, but not much more August 9, 2011

By Todd Ebert

Format:Paperback

I came across this book at the local dollar bookstore, where
for one buck, it seems hard to ever go wrong.

The premise of the book is that, to survive in the "conceptual age",
"left-brain" thinking/analysis is not sufficient, and that the most successful
people will be those who better use their right hemispheres. The author cites three
reasons for this shift to the right brain: automation and Asia (left brain rule-based tasks
are now being performed by both computers and cheaper white-collar Asian workers), and
abundance (there is more need than ever for inventors and designers).

Although there are some partial truths to his observations, in general I find this outlook a bit shallow
and myopic in perspective.

For one, the author seems to believe that this pipeline of cheap foreign labor will last forever. But we have to
remember that the US exports both knowledge and culture in enormous quantities (for example, the majority
of students who enroll in my computer-science graduate courses are from other countries;
especially China and India), and
these exports spurn more industry abroad which will have the effect of improving the quality of life abroad;
and hence driving up labor costs in those countries.

Secondly, ALL human intelligence is subject to automation, or at least an attempt to automate.
For example, playing chess requires a combination of mathematical-logical, spatial, and what the author refers to as "symphonic" intelligence. Many chess players think of themselves as artists. And many artists are inspired by
the game of chess.
Read more ›


Editorial Reviews

Just as we were getting used to the Information Age, Daniel Pink tells us that it is ending. With it goes our focus on charts, statistics, and linear thinking. Traditional "left-brain" activities, like logic, analysis, and repetitive production, are being turned over to robots, computers, and offshore labor. The valued skills of the 21st Century will be those of the right brain: empathy, design, synthesis, and contextual thinking. In this live presentation, author and lecturer Daniel Pink tells you:

  • How abundance, Asia, and automation are changing the world
  • Why "routine" is the scariest word in theEnglish language
  • How old-line companies like GM and Proctor & Gamble are responding
  • What six abilities matter most in the emerging age
  • www.booksreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
    www.booksreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.